Laserlab-Europe congratulates Anne L’Huillier, Pierre Agostini and Ferenc Krausz on receiving the 2023 Physics Nobel Prize!

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 was awarded to Anne L’Huillier (LLC, Sweden), Pierre Agostini (Ohio State University, USA) and Ferenc Krausz (MPQ, Germany) for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.

The three Nobel Laureates in Physics 2023 are being recognised for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. The laureates’ experiments have produced pulses of light so short that they are measured in attoseconds, thus demonstrating that these pulses can be used to provide images of processes inside atoms and molecules.

In 1987, Anne L’Huillier discovered that many different overtones of light arose when she transmitted infrared laser light through a noble gas. Anne L’Huillier has continued to explore this phenomenon, laying the ground for subsequent breakthroughs.

In 2001, Pierre Agostini succeeded in producing and investigating a series of consecutive light pulses, in which each pulse lasted just 250 attoseconds. The paper of Agostini and co-workers resulted from a transnational access experiment at LOA, France.

At the same time, Ferenc Krausz was working with another type of experiment, one that made it possible to isolate a single light pulse that lasted 650 attoseconds.

Laserlab-Europe is very proud of the accomplishments of the laureates all of which have a long history of collaboration within Laserlab-Europe. Congratulations!

For details see the Nobel Prize press release >>

Photo credit: Erika Weiland / Ohio State University / MPQ