2018 Nobel Prize in Physics for key inventions in the field of laser physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 was awarded to Arthur Ashkin for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems, and to Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses, i.e. the chirped pulse amplification (CPA) technique. These are inventions that have revolutionised laser physics. Laserlab-Europe congratulates the laureates!

For details see the Nobel Prize press release >>